Whether it’s a salesperson, an obsessive ex, or just someone that keeps calling or texting you, you might be considering blocking their number. That’s why it’s important to know how to block a number on iPhone.
The process of blocking a number isn’t particularly difficult. So, it does vary from phone to phone so you might not be able to find the option right away.
Back when iPhone just started releasing phones, blocking a number wasn’t that simple. However, with the constant improvement of iOS, this has become a fairly easy thing to do.
Follow the guide below and you will be able to block that annoying caller in no time.
How to block a number on an iPhone
There are two pretty straightforward ways to block someone on an iPhone, and both can be done rather quickly.
The easier way would be to find the page of the person you want to block in your contact list. Once you find them you will notice a “Block this caller” option at the bottom of the page.
Just press that and confirm the little tab that opens and voila! The number is blocked, as easy as that.
The alternative way to do this requires you to go to the settings menu on your phone, and then click on “Phone”. There you will find a sub-menu called “Call blocking & Identification”. A list will appear, and in the list will be all of the numbers you have blocked so far.
When you scroll to the bottom of the page, you will find a “Block a contact” option. After this, simply select the contact you want to block and confirm it.
In case you want to block someone before they even start bothering you, just add their number to your contact list and follow one of the two methods above.
Will the contact know they are blocked?
The short answer would be no. Although, if they keep calling you they could easily figure it out because they will never be able to reach you. When someone who you blocked is trying to call you they are immediately sent to voicemail. If they leave any messages via voicemail, you can find them in a separate folder called “Blocked Messages”, and you can listen to the messages there.
If the contact tries to send you an iMessage, they will think that the message was sent. However, you won’t receive it.
Also, if you want to learn how to reset your iPhone, click here.